Jesus Der Film

Focus #4

ven. 7 octobre 201607.10.16
20H30—22H00
76 rue de la Verrerie, 75004 Paris
Fee
Unique : 5€

Programmed and presented by Theo Deliyannis

In the presence of Michael Brynntrup

For the first time in France, the “underground” adaptation of the New Testament orchestrated and interpreted by Michael Brynntrup, a central and controversial figure in Berlin’s independent community, will be presented at the Saint-Merri church. Jesus der film is a monumental feature film made up of thirty-five episodes, shot in Super 8 by twenty-two filmmakers from the GDR and the FRG during 1987, on the model of an exquisite corpse. For the first time in France, the “underground” adaptation of the New Testament orchestrated and performed by Michael Brynntrup, a central and controversial figure in Berlin’s independent community, will be presented at the Saint-Merri church. Jesus der film is a monumental feature film made up of thirty-five episodes, shot in Super 8 by twenty-two filmmakers from the GDR and the FRG during 1987, on the model of an exquisite corpse.

JESUS DER FILM
Michael Brynntrup
Germany (FRG)
1987
Super 8 on digital
127’

Jesus - Der Film is a monumental feature film consisting of 35 episodes, shot in Super8 by 22 filmmakers from the GDR and FRG over the course of 12 months. Each episode tells a story from the New Testament, and the genesis of the project itself follows the story of Jesus Christ recruiting his apostles. The film’s creator, Michael Brynntrup, is a central and controversial figure in Berlin’s independent community. His transgressive obsessions and his ability to smuggle hundreds of meters of Russian Super8 film across the East-West border have created a following around him.

Individuals and groups from different artistic backgrounds reproduced the sacred narrative, inspired by the Surrealist idea of automatic writing. From one to the other, they exchange ideas, material and actors, among which Michael Brynntrup himself, in the role of the eponymous protagonist.

Théo Deliyannis

Could you tell us something about the German underground of the 80’s, which is somewhat unknown here? Were there for example links between West German and East German filmmakers?

Michael Brynntrup

The 80’s were even called the “Super-80’s” because there was a big movement of young artists who were (discovering and) seizing the Super-8 as their medium of choice.There were not only visual artists, but also musicians and performers, and I would say more, there was a political movement that had seized this medium as their own way of documenting their struggles for the occupation of disused buildings or their actions against Atomkraft (the equivalent of Areva in France) in an independent way.

This wave of the “Super-80’s” was international: the effervescence was common in other metropolises, like London, Paris, or New York. From the mid-1980s onwards, these different circles met through Super 8 film festivals or through program tours (the new term for which would probably be “networking”). Even in East Berlin there were a few people working with Super 8, but obviously under different conditions: for example, there was no sound film. Super 8 was considered an amateur format (as in the West), which had the advantage, in the East, of no state control over it.

When I arrived in this microcosm that is West Berlin, I was very intrigued by the strangeness of this city cut in two, which led me to travel a lot to East Berlin where I made many friends. I also met some filmmakers there, to whom I proposed to participate in the Jesus Der Film project.

TD

Can you tell us about the genesis of the film, how the idea came to you, and how the collective form of the film was decided upon?

MB

During the 1980s, in the midst of post-modernism, not only was authority deconstructed, but the very notion of authorship. When I arrived in Berlin in 1982, I worked with friends in a collective, the Oyko-Group. In this group, we tried various methods of collective creation. My goal was to make a film that was both the work of a number of filmmakers (all of whom were present with their own subjectivity and sometimes different ideas) and a feature-length narrative film with a single story line. My Christian upbringing of course led me to Jesus, “The Greatest Story Ever Told” (to use the title of another movie about Jesus).

The specificity of this story was that it was constructed in episodes, which made it perfect material for a collective film. When I started talking about it to my future collaborators I was very pleasantly surprised by the very positive reactions of these young secular artists.

I think that this idea brought about other things, like the revolt against authority and a deep desire for total creative freedom. The feeling at the time was “anything goes [Anything Goes].

TD

How did you manage to recruit so many filmmakers? One can imagine that there must have been some relational difficulties between some of them, knowing the experimental cinema milieu…

MB

I was quite familiar with the big Super 8 scene, whether it was at festivals or just in Berlin. In fact, I didn’t ask so many filmmakers, I only asked friends who were a bit “special”: those who had the same humorous spirit, and those who appreciated the dirtiness of Super 8. I even asked non-filmmakers, like critics or editors, because I appreciated their interest in underground culture. I think it was quite important for the success of the project that one person oversee the whole thing. And the participating filmmakers accepted that as a way to get the film done. As a result, there was not much discussion between the filmmakers, especially because the surrealist invention of automatic writing was an integral part of the project: no one knew about the other episodes made, except for the few links between them, which were indicated by myself.

TD

Could you tell us about the shooting of the film?

MB

The shooting took place all over Germany: Cologne, Hamburg, Munich, other cities and especially Berlin (East and West). The first shots were taken in the winter of 1984, and the last ones were done two weeks before the premiere of the film at the Berlinale in February 1986. In 2014 a book on the genesis of Jesus Der Film1was published, in which we reproduced the diary kept during the whole project: it can be noted that I spent, during the year and a half that the project took, almost every second of my days preparing, shooting, editing and finishing the film.

The film had no budget; I smuggled inexpensive Super 8 cartridges from East Berlin to distribute them to the various filmmakers. Some reels were developed by hand in my kitchen. At the end of the project I was a really poor filmmaker. When the film was selected at the Berlinale, a public institution gave us some money to print a copy (about 2400€), which allowed me to organize a tour of the film in about 40 German cities. After this tour I was still not rich, but at least I was debt free.

TD

How was the film received at its screenings? I saw somewhere that it was shown at a religious film festival - and now it’s going to be shown in a Parisian church: what were the general reactions of the Christian audience?

MB

After the Berlinale and during the film’s tour there were various reactions: a Catholic magazine referred to my film as “made by the devil”, while other newspapers presented the film as “revolutionary”. You could say that the film was controversial to say the least.

There is no homogeneous reaction from religious audiences - Christians these days have learned from the debates about religious cartoons, especially in relation to Islam and the Islamic State. It would seem that in our Western culture today, freedom of expression has a higher value than religious faith and feeling.

TD

Could you tell us some elements that could help us to understand your work in general, and also the way Jesus Der Film fits in your filmography?

MB

I make quite varied films; each film must be different from the previous ones. In retrospect, I notice that depending on the period, I was interested in certain themes. My first films were linked to my family and German heritage; I could for example make a film about the Berlin Wall. Perhaps Jesus Der Film belongs to that theme. Then I made some films about homosexuality, for example about AIDS, starting around 1989 with a film cycle called Death Dances, and other films with comic “gay content”. At the beginning of this millennium, and for more than ten years, I traveled a lot to Asia where I made a lot of installations and films related to the life and culture of this continent. I am always interested in technological innovations (I have made “interactive” films on the internet, for example).

Overall, I would say that my films are very personal since they are very clearly made by an identifiable human being, and all my films try to reach and transgress boundaries, whether they are technical or psychic.

1

BRYNNTRUP Michael, Jesus – Der Film – Das Buch, Vorwerk8, Berlin, 2014

Loading

Menu Fermer

Jesus Der Film

Focus #4

ven. 7 octobre 201607.10.16
20H30—22H00
76 rue de la Verrerie, 75004 Paris
Tarif
Unique : 5€

Programmé et présenté par Théo Deliyannis

En présence de Michael Brynntrup

Pour la première fois en France sera présenté à l’église Saint-Merri l’adaptation « underground » du Nouveau Testament orchestré et interprété par Michael Brynntrup, figure centrale et controversée de la communauté indépendante berlinoise. Jesus der film est un long-métrage monumental constitué de trente-cinq épisodes, tourné en Super 8 par vingt-deux cinéastes de RDA et de RFA au cours de l’année 1987, sur le modèle du cadavre exquis. Pour la première fois en France sera présenté à l’église Saint-Merri l’adaptation « underground » du Nouveau Testament orchestré et interprété par Michael Brynntrup, figure centrale et controversée de la communauté indépendante berlinoise. Jesus der film est un long-métrage monumental constitué de trente-cinq épisodes, tourné en Super 8 par vingt-deux cinéastes de RDA et de RFA au cours de l’année 1987, sur le modèle du cadavre exquis.

JESUS DER FILM
Michael Brynntrup

Allemagne (RFA)
1987
Super 8 numérisé
127’

Jesus – Der Film est un long métrage monumental constitué de 35 épisodes, tourné en Super8 par 22 cinéastes de la RDA et de la RFA au cours de 12 mois. Chaque épisode raconte l’histoire du Nouveau Testament, et la genèse même du projet suit le récit de Jésus Christ recrutant ses apôtres. Le créateur du film, Michael Brynntrup, est une figure centrale et controversée de la communauté indépendante berlinoise. Ses obsessions transgressives ainsi que sa capacité de transporter sous le manteau des centaines de mètres de pellicule Super8 russe à travers la frontière Est-Ouest ont fait en sorte qu’un groupe d’adeptes se constitue autour de lui.

Des individus et des groupes issus de différentes mouvances artistiques reproduisent ainsi le récit sacré, inspirés par l’idée Surréaliste de l’écriture automatique. De l’un à l’autre, ils s’échangent idées, matériel et acteurs, parmi lesquels Michael Brynntrup lui-même, dans le rôle du protagoniste éponyme.

Théo Deliyannis

Pourrais-tu nous dire quelques mots à propos de l’underground allemand des années 80, qui ici est quelque peu méconnu ? Y avait-t-il par exemple des liens entre les cinéastes d’Allemagne de l’Ouest avec ceux de l’Est ?

Michael Brynntrup

Les 80’s étaient même appelées les « Super-80’s » du fait qu’il y avait un grand mouvement constitué de jeunes artistes qui (découvraient et) s’emparaient du Super-8 comme médium de prédilection.  Il n’y avait pas seulement des plasticiens, mais également des musiciens et des performeurs, et je dirais plus, il y avait un mouvement politique qui s’était emparé de ce médium comme leur propre moyen de documenter leurs luttes pour l’occupation d’immeubles désaffectés ou leurs actions contre Atomkraft (l’équivalent d’Areva en France) de façon indépendante.

Cette vague des « Super-80’s » était internationale : l’effervescence était commune dans d’autres métropoles, comme Londres, Paris, ou New York. Dès le milieu des années 80 ces différents milieux se rencontraient par le biais de festivals de films Super 8 ou bien par des tournées de programmes (dont la nouvelle terminaison serait sans doute le « réseautage »). Même à Berlin-Est on pouvait trouver quelques personnes travaillant en Super 8, mais évidemment dans des conditions différentes : il n’y avait par exemple pas de pellicule sonore. Le Super 8 était considéré comme un format amateur (comme dans les pays occidentaux), ce qui avait l’avantage, dans l’Est, d’une absence de contrôle étatique dessus.

Quand je suis arrivé dans ce microcosme qu’est Berlin-Ouest, j’étais très intrigué par l’étrangeté de cette ville coupée en deux, ce qui m’a amené à beaucoup voyager à Berlin-Est où je me suis fait de nombreux amis. J’y ai aussi rencontré quelques cinéastes, à qui j’ai proposé de participer au projet Jesus Der Film.

TD

Peux-tu nous parler de la genèse du film, comment cette idée t’est venue, et comment la forme collective du film s’est-elle décidée ?

MB

Durant les années 80, en plein post-modernisme, non seulement l’autorité était déconstruite, mais la notion même d’auteur. Quand je suis arrivé à Berlin en 1982, j’ai travaillé avec des amis au sein d’un collectif, le Oyko-Group. Au sein de ce groupe, on a essayé diverses méthodes de créations collectives. Mon but était de faire un film qui soit à la fois l’oeuvre d’un certain nombre de cinéastes (tous présents avec leur subjectivité et leurs idées parfois différentes) et un long métrage narratif comprenant une seule trame narrative. Mon éducation chrétienne m’a bien sûr mené vers Jésus, « La Plus Grande Histoire Jamais Contée » (pour reprendre le titre d’un autre film sur Jésus).

La spécificité de cette histoire étant sa construction par épisode, ce qui en faisait un matériau parfait pour un film collectif. Quand j’ai commencé à en parler à mes futurs collaborateurs j’étais très agréablement surpris par les réactions très positives de ces jeunes artistes laïques.

Je pense que cette idée a amené d’autres choses, comme la révolte contre l’autorité et un profond désir d’une liberté totale de création. Le sentiment à l’époque étant « tout est permis » [Anything Goes].

TD

Comment as-tu réussi à recruter un tel nombre de cinéastes ? On imagine qu’il y a du avoir quelques difficultés relationnelles entre certains d’entre eux, connaissant le milieu du cinéma expérimental…

MB

Je connaissais assez bien le grand milieu de ce petit format qu’est le Super 8, que ce soit dans les festivals ou tout simplement à Berlin. En fait, je n’ai pas demandé à tellement de cinéastes, je n’ai demandé qu’a des amis un peu « spéciaux » : ceux qui avaient le même esprit humoristique, et ceux qui appréciaient la saleté du Super 8. J’ai même demandé à des non-cinéastes, comme des critiques ou bien des éditeurs, car j’appréciais leur intérêt pour la culture underground. Je pense qu’il était assez important, pour la bonne réussite du projet, qu’une seule personne supervise le tout. Et les cinéastes participants ont accepté cette façon de faire, en tant qu’elle permettait d’aller au bout du film. Du coup, il n’y a pas tellement eu de discussions entre les cinéastes, surtout parce que l’invention surréaliste de l’écriture automatique était une partie intégrante du projet : personne n’était au courant des autres épisodes réalisés, exceptés des quelques liens entre ceux-ci, qui étaient indiqués par moi-même.

TD

Pourrais-tu nous parler du tournage du film ?

MB

Le tournage a eu lieu dans toute l’Allemagne : Cologne, Hambourg, Munich, d’autres villes et surtout Berlin (Est et Ouest). Les premières prises datent de l’hiver 1984, et les dernières ont été effectuée deux semaines avant la première du film à la Berlinale en février 1986. En 2014 a été publié un livre sur la genèse de Jesus Der Film1, où nous avons reproduit le journal de bord tenu pendant tout le projet : on pourra y noter que j’ai passé, pendant l’année et demie qu’a pris le projet, presque chaque seconde de mes journées à préparer, tourner, monter et finir le film.

Le film n’avait pas de budget ; j’ai passé clandestinement des cartouches Super 8 peu coûteuses depuis Berlin-Est afin de les distribuer aux différents cinéastes. Certaines bobines étaient développées à la main dans ma cuisine. A la fin du projet j’étais un cinéaste vraiment pauvre. Quand le film a été sélectionné à la Berlinale, une institution publique nous a donné un peu d’argent afin de tirer une copie (2400€ à peu près), ce qui m’a permis d’organiser une tournée du film dans une quarantaine de villes allemandes. Après cette tournée je n’étais toujours pas riche, mais au moins je n’avais plus de dettes.

TD

Comment le film était-il reçu lors de ses projections ? J’ai vu quelque part qu’il fut montré lors d’un festival du film religieux – et maintenant il va être montré dans une église parisienne : quelles ont été généralement les réactions du public chrétien ?

MB

Après la Berlinale et durant la tournée du film il y a eu diverses réactions : un magazine catholique a mentionné mon film comme étant « réalisé par le Diable », tandis que d’autres journaux présentaient le film comme « révolutionnaire ». On peut dire que le film a été pour le moins controversé.

Il n’y a pas de réaction homogène de la part des publics religieux – les chrétiens de nos jours ont appris des débats sur les caricatures religieuses, notamment par rapport à l’Islam et l’État Islamique. Il semblerait que de nos jours, dans notre culture occidentale, la liberté d’expression ait une valeur plus importante que la foi et le sentiment religieux.

TD

Pourrais-tu nous indiquer quelques éléments pouvant nous aider à appréhender ton oeuvre en général, et aussi la façon dont Jesus Der Film s’intègre à ta filmographie ?

MB

Je fais des films assez variés ; chaque film doit être différent des précédents. Rétrospectivement, je remarque que selon les périodes, j’étais intéressé par certaines thématiques. Mes premiers films étaient en lien avec mon héritage familial et allemand ; j’ai pu par exemple faire un film sur le Mur de Berlin. Peut-être que Jesus Der Film appartient à cette thématique-là. Puis j’ai fait quelques films sur l’homosexualité, par exemple autour du SIDA, débutant vers 1989 avec un cycle de film titré Death Dances [Danses Macabres], et d’autres films avec du « contenu gay » comique. Au début de ce millénaire, et pendant plus de dix ans, j’ai beaucoup voyagé en Asie où j’ai réalisé beaucoup d’installations et de films en lien avec la vie et la culture de ce continent. Je suis toujours intéressé par les nouveautés technologiques (j’ai par exemple fait des films « interactifs » sur internet).

Globalement, je dirai que mes films sont très personnels puisqu’ils sont très clairement réalisés par un être humain identifiable, et tous mes films tentent d’atteindre et de transgresser des frontières, qu’elles soient techniques ou bien psychiques.

1

BRYNNTRUP Michael, Jesus – Der Film – Das Buch, Vorwerk8, Berlin, 2014