Menu Close

Pierre Bressan : trajectory

Focus #1

Wed 6 October 202106.10.21
19H00—21H00
Place Georges-Pompidou
75004 Paris
Fee
Full price : 6 € Reduced price : 4 € Free for Centre Pompidou Pass holders
réduit : 4 €
Gratuit pour les détenteurs du Laissez-passer du Centre Pompidou
Programmed and presented by Theo Deliyannis and Judit Naranjo Ribó

Programmed and presented by Théo Deliyannis and Judit Naranjo Ribó

This session will trace the meteoric rise of Pierre Bressan, an unjustly forgotten filmmaker from Nancy, whose last film won a joint award at the Clermont Ferrand Film Festival with Leos Carax’s first film. Also a programmer at the mythical FUFU (Festival Underground du Film Universitaire, or “Underground University film festival”), Pierre Bressan has created a particularly consistent body of work of about ten films between 1976 and 1985. His work, although being extremely specific, appears at the crossroads of several movements belonging to experimental cinema or others: the cinema of the body, the baroque cinema, and a certain taste for the costumes and atmospheres inherited from Hammer productions. These films were recently rediscovered after having been carefully stored in the cellar of the filmmaker’s sister for more than thirty years.

Les Lamentations
Pierre Bressan

France
1977
16mm
12'

Frauenzimmer
Pierre Bressan

France
1978
16mm
17'

Usual Gesture Drama
Pierre Bressan et Alain Krepper

France
1979
16mm
6'

Maria Guadalupe Villalobos
Pierre Bressan

France
1979
16mm
6'

La Dame aux Camélias
Pierre Bressan

France
1980
16mm
30'

Midas
Pierre Bressan

France
1976
16mm
5'

Pierre Bressan : trajectory

Pierre Bressan, born in 1956, died in 2011. Born in Nancy, this filmmaker had a short but intense career. Over the period 1976-1985, he directed one commissioned feature, two medium-length films, six short films, and an extended cinema performance. He is also a film programmer at the FUFU (Festival Universitaire du Film Underground) in Nancy. Like the meetings in Rennes and Toulouse, Cinémarge in La Rochelle, and the Cinéma Différent section of the Hyères film festival, these festivals remind us that experimentation was also, and above all, happening outside the capital.

A very quiet personality and a dark dandy, Pierre Bressan builds, throughout his films, an extremely consistent universe, very black, even gothic, where he gives free rein to his taste for stoic, Schroeterian poses, empty and strangely lit rooms, black costumes, a suspended, underexposed time, and Nancy-esque lights. Although his work is very singular, it could be compared to other films of that time, be it the adaptations of Poe by Roger Corman, the films of the so-called School of the Body, or the cinema of the pose: Philippe Garrel, Yvan Lagrange, Denis Develoux or Patrice Énard.

We wanted our program to be chronological, because Pierre Bressan’s films are well suited to this order: his universe slowly gets populated, perfected, with details emerging. We will screen his films until La Dame aux Camélias, his first truly fictional foray, created after he defended a thesis in literature on Alexandre Dumas (son). He then directed Nuits Blanches, which will not be screened as part of this program, a strange experimental thriller set in Nancy, with yellow tones, whose technical mastery sometimes gives us the illusion of watching the reverse side of a Hollywood film, and which was awarded a joint award in Clermont-Ferrand with the first film of Leos Carax.

After these films, Pierre Bressan still worked in cinema as a director of photography on some short films, including the first film of Laetitia Masson, produced by the GREC, where one can feel Bressan’s touch. He then disappeared: first from Nancy, then from the experimental cinema scene. His films disappeared with him, well wrapped up and dry in a cellar. When he died in 2011, his sister recovered the copies which, in a remarquable way for an experimental filmmaker, were perfectly arranged and annotated.

Why he suddenly stopped making films is difficult to know. There is one hypothesis, however: Pierre Bressan is one of those rare romantic filmmakers for whom  filming represents everything, and for whom each shooting is trying because it requires a total investment, close to madness. Unlike filmmakers who film when asked to or because they are given money, he is one of those who only films when their desire is intense and burning. And this fire rarely lasts long: then comes the need to stop, to take a rest, to take the films off the streets, for a while at least. Ten years after his death, it is time to give it a new life.

- Theo Deliyannis

For some time now, we have been carrying out a minute archeological work at the Collectif Jeune Cinéma: searching, finding, restoring and then screening films that once belonged to our catalog but which, for various reasons, have been withdrawn from circulation, most often to end up in the cellars of the copyright holders. The discovery of an entire filmography that has completely vanished from the history of experimental cinema is a rare moment, and a real gift to our cinephilia.

A few months ago, Theo told me when he arrived at office [1] that he had managed to find Pierre Bressan’s sister. Bressan : Les Lamentations, mention of the Jury at the 1977 Hyères festival; this forgotten filmmaker whose invisible films have intrigued us for some time. Théo found his trace thanks to Alain Lithaud, a composer of electroacoustic music and of a good part of the music of Pierre Bressan’s films.

A few days later, Theo and the filmmaker’s sister met at her home and she entrusted us with the copies of the films so we could restore, digitize and then distribute them. The films have all been carefully stored and preserved, from the original pictures (reversible Ektachrome for almost every film) to the screening copies with magnetic stripe sound tracks.

From April 6 to 8, 2021, we digitized and discovered the entire work of Pierre Bressan at the Polygone Étoilé. This location dedicated to cinema and established in Marseille welcomes resident filmmakers (film and digital editing, post-production), workshops, and is also home to an important editorial work [2]. There, we celebrate cinema during an Semaine Asymétrique of public screenings.

The Polygone has recently been equipped with a scanner to allow for projects of valorization and preservation like ours, allowing for digitization of films independently from laboratories, supported by a community, and affordable. It is thanks to this that certain works that remain on the fringe of institutions, and of a certain history of cinema, can find their way into film programs, research and distribution.

Once on site, without screening the films beforehand, we decided to digitize them chronologically and thus were able to witness the technical and plastic evolution of Pierre Bressan’s work. As soon as the first silver images appear on the digital screen, our intuition is confirmed: a great forgotten filmmaker reveals himself, which it is now time to rediscover.

- Judit Naranjo Ribó

1

Théo Deliyannis and myself are the only two employees of the association presently. We are sometimes assisted by interns and community service staff.

2

I am refering to the collection Cinema Hors Capital(e) for the Éditions communes, books that come with a DVD.

Menu Fermer

Pierre Bressan : trajectoire

Focus #1

mer. 6 octobre 202106.10.21
19H00—21H00
Place Georges-Pompidou
75004 Paris
Tarif
Tarif plein : 6 €
Tarif réduit : 4 €
Gratuit pour les détenteurs du Laissez-passer du Centre Pompidou

Programmé et présenté par Théo Deliyannis et Judit Naranjo Ribó

Cette séance retracera la trajectoire fulgurante de Pierre Bressan, cinéaste nancéen injustement oublié, dont le dernier film a été primé au festival de Clermont Ferrand, ex-aequo avec le premier film de Leos Carax. Par ailleurs programmateur au mythique FUFU (Festival Underground du Film Universitaire), Pierre Bressan a conçu une œuvre particulièrement cohérente entre 1976 et 1985, composée d’une dizaine de films. Son travail, bien que témoignant d’une extrême singularité apparaît à la croisée de plusieurs mouvances du cinéma expérimental ou non : le cinéma du corps, le cinéma baroque, et un goût certain pour les costumes et ambiances héritées des films de la Hammer. Ces films ont été récemment redécouverts, après avoir été soigneusement conservés dans la cave de la sœur du cinéaste pendant plus de trente ans.

Les Lamentations
Pierre Bressan

France
1977
16mm
12'

Frauenzimmer
Pierre Bressan

France
1978
16mm
17'

Usual Gesture Drama
Pierre Bressan et Alain Krepper

France
1979
16mm
6'

Maria Guadalupe Villalobos
Pierre Bressan

France
1979
16mm
6'

La Dame aux Camélias
Pierre Bressan

France
1980
16mm
30'

Midas
Pierre Bressan

France
1976
16mm numérisé
5'

Pierre Bressan, né en 1956, décédé en 2011. Cinéaste originaire de Nancy, à la carrière courte mais intense. 1976-1985, un long métrage de commande, deux moyens, six courts métrages, et une performance de cinéma élargi. Parallèlement, il est programmateur cinéma au FUFU (Festival Universitaire du Film Underground) à Nancy. Comme les rencontres de Rennes, de Toulouse, Cinémarge à La Rochelle, la section Cinéma Différent du festival d’Hyères, ces festivals nous rappellent que l’expérimental se faisait aussi, et surtout, en dehors de la capitale.

Personnage très discret, dandy sombre, Pierre Bressan construit, au fil de ses films, un univers extrêmement cohérent, très noir, gothique même, où il laisse libre cours à son goût pour les poses stoïques, schroeteriennes, les pièces vides et étrangement éclairées, les costumes noirs, un temps en suspens, sous-exposé, et des lumières nancéennes. Bien que son œuvre soit très singulière, on pourrait la rapprocher d’autres films de l’époque, que ce soit des adaptations de Poe par Roger Corman, des films de ladite École du corps, ou encore du cinéma de la pose : Philippe Garrel, Yvan Lagrange, Denis Develoux ou encore Patrice Énard.

Notre programmation, nous l’avons voulue chronologique, car les films de Pierre Bressan s’accommodent bien de cet ordre : son univers se peuple petit à petit, se perfectionne, des détails surgissent. Nous irons jusqu’à La Dame aux Camélias, première incursion réellement fictionnelle, réalisé après avoir soutenu un mémoire en littérature sur Alexandre Dumas fils. Ensuite, il réalisera Nuits Blanches, qui ne sera pas projeté lors de cette séance, un étrange polar expérimental se déroulant à Nancy, dans des teintes jaunes, dont la maîtrise technique nous donne parfois l’illusion d’une face B d’un film hollywoodien, et qui a été primé à Clermont-Ferrand ex-aequo avec le premier film de Leos Carax.

Après ces films, Pierre Bressan travaille encore dans le cinéma, en faisant l’image sur certains courts métrages, dont le premier film de Laetitia Masson, produit par le GREC, où l’on retrouve aisément la patte de Bressan. Puis, il disparaît : de Nancy en premier, puis du milieu du cinéma expérimental. Ses films s’éclipsent avec lui, bien emmitouflés, au sec dans une cave. À sa mort, en 2011, sa sœur récupère les copies qui, fait notable pour un cinéaste expérimental, sont parfaitement rangées et annotées.

Pourquoi a-t-il aussi soudainement arrêté de faire des films, difficile à savoir. Une hypothèse tout de même : Pierre Bressan est un de ces rares cinéastes romantiques pour qui filmer représente tout, et pour qui chaque tournage est éprouvant car il demande un investissement total, proche de la folie. Bien à rebours de cinéastes qui filment à la demande, ou parce que les sous sont là, il est de celles et ceux qui ne filment que lorsque le désir est intense, brûlant. Et ce feu-là dure rarement longtemps : il y a alors le besoin d’arrêter, de prendre du repos, de retirer ses films de la circulation, pour un temps du moins. Dix ans après son décès, il est temps de leur redonner vie.

— Théo Deliyannis

 

Depuis quelques temps, nous menons un rigoureux travail archéologique au Collectif Jeune Cinéma, celui de rechercher, retrouver, remettre en état puis projeter des films ayant autrefois appartenu à notre catalogue mais qui, pour diverses raisons, ont été retirés de la circulation pour atterrir le plus souvent dans les caves d’ayants-droit. La découverte d’une filmographie entière totalement évaporée des histoires du cinéma expérimental est un moment rare, et, pour notre ciné- philie, un véritable cadeau.

Il y a quelques mois, Théo me dit en arrivant au bureau1 qu’il a réussi à retrouver la sœur de Pierre Bressan. Bressan : Les lamentations, mention du Jury au festival d’Hyères 1977 ; ce cinéaste oublié dont les films invisibles nous intriguent depuis un temps. Théo en retrouve la piste grâce à Alain Lithaud, compositeur de musique électroacoustique et auteur d’une bonne partie de la musique des films de Pierre Bressan.

Quelques jours plus tard, Théo et la sœur du cinéaste se donnent rendez-vous chez elle et elle nous confie les copies des films afin de les remettre en état, les numériser, puis les distribuer. Les films ont tous été soigneusement rangés et conservés, des originaux images (inversible Ektachrome pour la quasi-totalité des films) aux copies de diffusion avec piste son magnétique couchée.

Du 6 au 8 avril 2021, nous numérisons et découvrons toute l’œuvre de Pierre Bressan au Polygone Étoilé. Dans ce lieu de cinéma établi à Marseille, on y accueille des cinéastes en résidence (montage argentique et numérique, post-production), des ateliers y sont organisés, un important travail éditorial a lieu2, et on y fête le cinéma lors d’une Semaine Asymétrique de projections publiques.

Le Polygone s’est récemment équipé d’un scan pour permettre des gestes de valorisation et conservation comme le nôtre : une numérisation hors laboratoire, associative, qui puisse rester accessible financièrement. C’est grâce à ça que certaines œuvres qui restent en marge des institutions, et d’une histoire du cinéma, peuvent retrouver une place dans le circuit de programmation, recherche et diffusion.

Une fois sur place, sans projeter les films auparavant, nous décidons de les numériser de façon chronologique et pouvons assister à l’évolution technique et plastique de l’œuvre de Pierre Bressan. Dès que les premières images argentiques appa- raissent sur l’écran numérique, notre intuition se confirme, celle de la révélation d’un grand cinéaste oublié, qu’il est maintenant temps de redécouvrir.

— Judit Naranjo Ribó

1

Théo Deliyannis et moi-même sommes les deux seuls salarié.e.s de l'association actuellement. Nous épaulent parfois des stagiaires et services civiques.

2

Je réfère à la collection Cinéma Hors Capital(e) aux éditions communes, ouvrages accompagnés d'un DVD.