Menu Close

Outside the system

Focus #12

Fri 15 October 202115.10.21
20H00—22H00
5 rue des Ecoles
75005 Paris
Reservation
Fee
Single price: 5€
UGC/MK2 and CIP cards accepted

Programmed and presented by Érik Bullot

Present in the first CJC catalogs, Jean Fléchet’s film Traité du rossignol (Nightingale’s Treaty), between the New Wave and the avant-garde, in a libertarian tone close to the utopias of 1968, mixes narrative experimentation, poetic allegory and political thoughts. It is a testimony of the first years of the CJC that was seeking a cinema “that does not fit or does not wish to fit into what is usually called the system”.

Le Traité du Rossignol
Jean Fléchet

France
1969
16mm digitized
104'

Outside the system

Directed in 1969 by the maverick filmmaker Jean Fléchet, who met with public and critical success with L’Orsalhèr (Le Montreur d’ours (The bear tamer), 1984) spoken in Occitan, Traité du rossignol (Treaty of the nightingale) appeared in the first editions of the Collectif Jeune Cinéma catalog, then quickly disappeared. Let’s unfold the images of this unusual and curious film.

The story begins with a homonymy (the word rossignol (nightingale) designates both the bird with its melodious trill and a set of keys for picking locks). Equipped with a tape recorder, Vigo, a nonchalant young man, travels to the Vaucluse region of France to record the song of the nightingale following the request of an electronic music composer. During a spring night, in an abandoned house, he meets two thieves, Melanie and Lela, who are looking for who knows what. This impromptu meeting is punctuated by funny appearances: an extremely tired cyclist-hiker; a peremptory quilt salesman accompanied by his sleeping wife, both arriving by helicopter; a gathering of villagers who smear themselves with honey; Melanie’s father, a friend of the commissioners and prosecutors, in the grip of verbal delirium; a mysterious female figure who personifies the owl. In the candlelit half-light, the fable is placed under the magical invocation of old Voronov, the former Russian owner of the house, possessor of a fabulous fruit garden.

The picaresque character of the fable is redoubled by the digressive structure of the film, punctuated by didactic sequences on birds (nightingales, eider ducks, pelicans), alternating documentary images and animated sequences, remarks on the contemporary political situation, and the story of Michel Siffre’s 1962 experiment in which he spent sixty-three days in a cave to measure the influence of the internal clock. Hence the disparate nature of the film, through associations of ideas and ramblings, in the course of an initiatory May night during which time is abolished. The bouncy and disconcerting tone, the actresses’ often slangy language (“we half-inched the sleeper”, “everyone had become short-sighted”, “he knows a lot of stuff, but he’s a loafer”), the tenuousness of the plots, which are simply a support for unexpected encounters, announce Jacques Rivette’s films. By its mixture of fantasy and gravity, Traité du rossignol offers a meditation tinged with melancholy about society and the place of the individual, be it archaic village rites or the world of birds. At dawn, driving along the roads in their dilapidated 2CV, unloading the tape recorder, the bicycle, the quilts and Voronov’s elixir, the two thieves, joined by Vigo, seem to be escaping from the curse, breaking away. The night of May will be liberating or not.

If the film is singular in its composite form, it is nevertheless part of a certain utopian landscape of French cinema in the 1970s. This is evidenced by the choice of actors and actresses: Richard Leduc (Vigo) is an actor familiar with the films of Robert Benayoun and Alain Robbe-Grillet; Hermine Karagheuz (Lela), recently deceased, played Marie the following year in Out 1 : Noli me tangere by Rivette; Françoise Brion (Mélanie), known for her roles in the films of Jacques Doniol-Valcroze, belongs to the circle of the chosen ones in Les Soleils de l’île de Pâques, another initiatory film by Pierre Kast released in 1972; director of Beckett, Roger Blin embodies the seller of quilts with raptor’s claws; Marpessa Dawn, who portrays the owl, remained famous for her role in Orfeu Negro.

In a libertarian tone close to the utopias of 1968, between the New Wave and the avant-garde, Traité du rossignol crosses narrative experimentation, poetic allegory and political reflection, responding to the shifting criteria of the first years of the CJC in search of a cinema “that does not fit or does not wish to fit into what we are accustomed to call the system”.

- Erik Bullot

Pour une mise en jeu du CJC

Jean Fléchet, Joël Magny, Yves-André Delubac

Menu Fermer

Hors système

Focus #12

ven. 15 octobre 202115.10.21
20H00—22H00
5 rue des Ecoles
75005 Paris
Tarif
Tarif unique : 5€
Cartes UGC/MK2 et CIP acceptées

Programmé et présenté par Érik Bullot

Présent dans les premiers catalogues du CJC, le film de Jean Fléchet, Traité du rossignol, entre Nouvelle Vague et avant-garde, sur un ton libertaire proche des utopies de 68, croise expérimentation narrative, allégorie poétique et réflexion politique. Il témoigne des premières années du CJC en quête d’un cinéma «qui ne s’insère pas ou ne désire pas s’insérer dans ce que l’on a coutume d’appeler le système ».

Le Traité du Rossignol
Jean Fléchet

France
1969
16mm numérisé
104'

Hors système

Réalisé en 1969 par le cinéaste franc-tireur Jean Fléchet, qui rencontrera un succès public et critique avec L’Orsalhèr (Le Montreur d’ours, 1984) parlé en occitan, Traité du rossignol apparaît dès les premières éditions du catalogue du Collectif Jeune Cinéma, puis disparaît rapidement. Déplions les images de ce film, insolite et curieux.

C’est à la faveur d’une homonymie que le récit s’amorce (le mot rossignol désigne à la fois l’oiseau aux trilles mélodieuses et un jeu de clefs pour crocheter les serrures). Muni d’un magnétophone, Vigo, jeune homme nonchalant, se rend dans le Vaucluse pour enregistrer le chant du rossignol à la demande d’un compositeur de musique électronique et rencontre, le temps d’une nuit printanière, dans une demeure abandonnée, deux voleuses, Mélanie et Lela, à la recherche d’on ne sait quoi. Cette rencontre impromptue sera ponctuée d’apparitions cocasses : un cycliste-randonneur extrêmement fatigué ; un vendeur d’édredons péremptoire accompagné de son épouse endormie, arrivés tous deux en hélicoptère ; une assemblée de villageois qui se barbouille de miel ; le père de Mélanie, ami des commissaires et des procureurs, en proie au délire verbal ; une figure féminine mystérieuse qui personnifie la chouette. Dans la pénombre éclairée de bougies, la fable est placée sous l’invocation magique du vieux Voronov, l’ancien propriétaire russe de la demeure, possesseur d’un jardin fruitier fabuleux.

Le caractère picaresque de la fable est redoublé par la structure digressive du film, rythmée de séquences didactiques sur les oiseaux (rossignols, eiders, pélicans), alternant images documentaires et séquences d’animation, de propos sur la situation politique contemporaine, du récit de l’expérience de Michel Siffre en 1962 qui passa soixante-trois jours dans une caverne pour mesurer l’influence de l’horloge interne. D’où la nature disparate du film, par associations d’idées et divagations, au fil d’une nuit de mai initiatique au cours de laquelle le temps est aboli. Le ton primesautier et déroutant, le jeu des actrices au langage souvent argotique («on a chouravé la dormeuse», «toute le monde était devenu miro», «il connaît des tas de trucs, mais il est cossard »), la ténuité des intrigues, simples support à d’inattendues rencontres, annoncent les films de Jacques Rivette. Par son mélange de fantaisie et de gravité, Traité du rossignol offre une méditation teintée de mélancolie sur la société et la place de l’individu, qu’il s’agisse des rites villageois archaïques ou du monde des oiseaux. Au lever du jour, filant sur les routes dans leur 2 CV délabrée, dérobant le magnétophone, la bicyclette, les édredons et l’élixir de Voronov, les deux voleuses, rejointes par Vigo, semblent échapper à la malédiction, en rupture de ban. La nuit de mai sera libératrice ou ne sera pas.

Si le film est singulier par sa forme composite, il s’inscrit toutefois au sein d’un certain paysage utopique du cinéma français des années 1970. En témoigne le choix des comédiens et comédiennes : Richard Leduc (Vigo) est un acteur familier des films de Robert Benayoun et Alain Robbe-Grillet ; Hermine Karagheuz (Lela), récemment disparue, interprète Marie l’année suivante dans Out 1 : Noli me tangere de Rivette ; Françoise Brion (Mélanie), connue pour ses rôles dans les films de Jacques Doniol-Valcroze, appartient au cercle des élus dans Les Soleils de l’île de Pâques, autre film initiatique de Pierre Kast sorti en 1972 ; metteur en scène de Beckett, Roger Blin incarne le vendeur d’édredons aux griffes de rapace ; Marpessa Dawn, qui figure la chouette, est restée célèbre pour son rôle dans Orfeu Negro.

Sur un ton libertaire proche des utopies de 68, entre Nouvelle Vague et avant-garde, Traité du rossignol croise expérimentation narrative, allégorie poétique et réflexion politique, répondant aux critères labiles des premières années du CJC en quête d’un cinéma «qui ne s’insère pas ou ne désire pas s’insérer dans ce que l’on a coutume d’appeler le système».

— Érik Bullot