Menu Close

Les Brigades S’Marti, St Charles / CJC, 1998-2008

Focus #6

Mon 11 October 202111.10.21
19H30—21H00
34 rue Daubenton
75005 Paris
Fee
Free participation

Programmed and presented by Stéphane Marti

Bringing to light small forgotten treasures directly related to the history and spirit of the CJC. Instinctive, DIY or more elaborate universes, always intimate and personal, which take on the unrivaled specificities of  Super 8 and experimental cinema to create forms, always unexpected, with surges of dazzling beauty. A raw transcription of the personal experience of cinema.

Kamala
Adelaïde Naturel

France
2003
Digitized Super 8
7’

Happiness
Angélica Cuevas Portilla

France
2003
Digitized Super 8
3’20

Le journal d’un chien
Gilles Touzeau

France
1998-2021
Digitized Super 8
7’25

Sens Partie 1 et 2
Mariette Auvray

France
2006
Digitized Super 8
5’

Memosium
Louis Dupont

France
2002
Digitized Super 8
6’40

La Femme Rouge vomit ses mots
Marie Sochor

France
2001
Digitized Super 8
7’

Bouffée d’air avant implosion
Isabelle Blanche

France
2000
Digitized Super 8
7’

So dark the night
Rodolphe Cobetto Caravanes

France
2003
Digitized Super 8
7’

Sweet (from Mira Corpora)
Stéphane Marti

France
2004
Digitized Super 8
4’

Ink
Sarah Darmon

France
2001
Digitized Super 8
6’

Etude N°5
Gabrielle Reiner

France
2005
Digitized Super 8
3’40

The Brigades S'Marti, St Charles/CJC - Super 8 Experimental Workshop (1998-2008)

The selections of the Brigades S’M are woven from treasures largely forgotten and in close connection with the teaching of experimental cinema at the department of Visual Arts, Centre St Charles (Paris 1/Sorbonne) and the spirit of the Collectif Jeune Cinéma.

In St. Charles, shortly after 68, emerge the storms of a transgressive cinema, abundant, self-produced and led by its most brilliant theorist, Dominique Noguez.

I was lucky enough to dive into this universe in 1974 and discover works of incredible creativity. Unaware that it was so easy to pick up a camera, I started filming and then proposed my films to the Collectif Jeune Cinéma, the first French coop to promote this adventure during its screenings or during its Festival d’Hyères, in the Cinéma Différent section, directed by Marcel Mazé.

In 1985, I began teaching in line with this dynamic and introduced my students to some of the films that have resonated for several generations, such as Un Chien Andalou, Le sang d’un poète, Meshes of the Afternoon, Un chant d’amour, Inauguration of the Pleasure Dome, Dog Star Man and Walden.

Thanks to 16 mm copies, to some films on VHS and later to those of the Re:Voir collection created by Pip Chodorov, the repertoire widened and I perceived the same shock that I had when I discovered Noguez’s teachings. I also showed them the ones I had in Super 8 and we dived into the practice. Super 8 being very easy to access at the time, I had the university buy some equipment (projectors, viewers, splicers, stocks of film) and here they went, first with workshop exercises and then with more personal productions where each one of them would confront the medium and develop his or her own sensitivity.

For it is indeed an exceptional medium. First of all, the mania for small cameras allows for proximity and intimacy with the subject being filmed and offers the possibility of multiplying points of view without having to move equipment or technicians. With this ability, by playing with the focal distance, the acceleration, the slow motion, the blur, the movement, the shaking, but also the gesture in “action filming” (close to Action Painting), to let the immediate impulse speak to create forms and give a raw transcription of the experience.

Then its format, close to the square, a surface/plane where it seems natural to approach the subject in order to center it. Then this particular emulsion, including the sublime K40, a granulation that can be identified among all others and whose best definition is obtained by filming in a tight shot. Then there are the vibrations of the hand-held camera, the messy game of blurs, overexposures, underexposures, the interventions on the film (scratching, fading, painting, pasting, etc.) and the scratching of the dust, scratches or collages. Finally, in-camera improvisation or the infinite games of animation image after image.

The end-of-year screenings were very stimulating. I decided to propose selections at the Galerie Donguy where Michel Journiac was already presenting the work of his own students, and then, starting in 1998, at the cinema La Clef, for the rebirth of the CJC, its regular programming and its brand new Paris Festival.

It was a joyful mess. Magnificent rendering of the originals, live soundtrack on CD and a crowded room. Many of these young film-artists submitted their films to the CJC and became involved in the life of the coop (second period): Sarah Darmon (the first paid coordinator), Orlan Roy, Marie Sochor, Angélica Cuevas Portilla, Louis Dupont, Isabelle Blanche, Gabrielle Reiner and Damien Marguet. Others continue brilliantly on the paths of creation.

Today, I wanted to update some of these films (3 programs on file). Instinctive, wild, minimal or lush, DIY or more elaborate, these are gems that I still find strong. A great opportunity to return to an aspect of the DNA of the CJC: the unsuspected richness of creativity.

— Stéphane Marti

Menu Fermer

Les Brigades S’Marti, St Charles / CJC, 1998-2008

Focus #6

lun. 11 octobre 202111.10.21
19H30—21H00
34 rue Daubenton
75005 Paris
Tarif
Participation libre

Programmé et présenté par Stéphane Marti

Remise en lumière de petits trésors oubliés et en lien direct avec l’histoire et l’esprit du CJC. Univers instinctifs, bricolés ou plus élaborés, toujours intimes et personnalisés, qui s’approprient les spécificités inégalées du Super 8 et du cinéma expérimental pour créer des formes, toujours inattendues, avec des pics de beauté fulgurante. Une transcription brute de l’expérience personnelle du cinéma.

Les Brigades S’Marti, St Charles / CJC, 1998-2008

Kamala
Adelaïde Naturel

France
2003
Super 8 numérisé
7’

Happiness
Angélica Cuevas Portilla

France
2003
Super 8 numérisé
3’20

Le journal d’un chien
Gilles Touzeau

France
1998-2021
Super 8 numérisé
7’25

Sens Partie 1 et 2
Mariette Auvray

France
2006
Super 8 numérisé
5’

Memosium
Louis Dupont

France
2002
Super 8 numérisé
6’40

La Femme Rouge vomit ses mots
Marie Sochor

France
2001
Super 8 numérisé
7’

Bouffée d’air avant implosion
Isabelle Blanche

France
2000
Super 8 numérisé
7’

So dark the night
Rodolphe Cobetto Caravanes

France
2003
Super 8 numérisé
7’

Sweet (extrait de Mira Corpora)
Stéphane Marti

France
2004
Super 8 numérisé
4’

Ink
Sarah Darmon

France
2001
Super 8 numérisé
6’

Etude N°5
Gabrielle Reiner

France
2005
Super 8 numérisé
3’40

Les Brigades S'Marti, St Charles/CJC - Ateliers Super 8 Expérimental (1998-2008)

Les sélections des Brigades S’M sont tissées de trésors en grande partie oubliés et en lien étroit avec l’enseignement du cinéma expérimental dispensé à l’UFR d’Arts Plastiques, Centre St Charles (Paris 1/Sorbonne) et l’esprit du Collectif Jeune Cinéma.

À St Charles, peu après 68, émergent les tempêtes d’un cinéma transgressif, foisonnant, autoproduit et conduites par son plus brillant théoricien, Dominique Noguez.

J’ai la chance de plonger dans cet univers dès 1974 et d’y découvrir des œuvres d’une créativité inouïe. Ignorant que c’était si facile de prendre une caméra, je me lance puis propose mes films au Collectif Jeune Cinéma, première coop française à promouvoir cette aventure lors de ses projections ou en son Festival d’Hyères, section Cinéma Différent, pilotée par Marcel Mazé.

Dès 1985, j’enclenche à mon tour un enseignement aligné sur cette dynamique et fais découvrir à mes étudiant.e.s quelques uns des films-fétiches qui résonnent pour plusieurs générations tels Un chien Andalou, Le sang d’un poète, Meshes of the Afternoon, Un chant d’amour, Inauguration of the Pleasure Dome, Dog Star Man ou Walden.

Grâce à des copies 16 mm, à quelques films en VHS puis plus tard à ceux de la collection Re:Voir créée par Pip Chodorov, le répertoire s’élargit et je perçois le même choc que j’ai eu en découvrant les cours de Noguez. Je leur montre également ceux dont je dispose en Super 8 et on plonge dans la pratique. Le Super 8 étant très facile d’accès à l’époque, je fais acheter du matériel par la fac (projecteurs, visionneuses, colleuses, stocks de pellicule) et les voilà parti.e.s, d’abord dans des exercices d’atelier puis dans des productions plus personnelles ou chacun.e va se confronter au médium et développer sa propre sensibilité.

Car il s’agit bien d’un médium d’exception. D’abord la maniabilité des petites caméras qui autorise une proximité, une intimité avec le sujet filmé et offre la possibilité de multiplier les points de vue sans avoir à déplacer matériel ou techniciens. Avec cette faculté, en jouant avec la distance focale, l’accéléré, le ralenti, le flou, le bougé, le tremblé, mais aussi la gestuelle en « action filming » (proche de l’Action Painting), de laisser parler la pulsion immédiate pour créer des formes et donner une transcription brute de l’expérience.

Puis son format, proche du carré, une surface/plan où il apparaît naturel de s’approcher de son sujet afin de le centrer. Ensuite cette émulsion particulière, dont le sublime K40, granulation repérable entre toutes et dont la meilleure définition s’obtient en filmant en plan serré. S’ajoutent les vibrations de la caméra tenue à la main, le jeu foutraque des flous, des surrex, des soussex, les interventions sur pellicule (grattage, décoloration, peinture, collage, etc.) et les scratchs des poussières, rayures ou collures. Enfin le tournage en tourné-monté ou les jeux infinis de l’animation image/image.

Les projections de fin d’année sont très stimulantes. Je décide d’en proposer des sélections à la Galerie Donguy où Michel Journiac présentait déjà les travaux de ses propres étudiant.e.s puis, à partir de 1998, au cinéma La Clef, pour la renaissance du CJC, ses programmations régulières et son tout nouveau Festival de Paris.

C’était un joyeux bazar. Magnifique rendu des originaux, bande son sur CD piloté en direct et salle comble. Nombre de ces jeunes ciné-artistes déposent leurs films au CJC et s’impliquent alors dans la la vie de la coop (seconde période) : Sarah Darmon (la première coordinatrice enfin rémunérée) Orlan Roy, Marie Sochor, Angélica Cuevas Portilla, Louis Dupont, Isabelle Blanche, Gabrielle Reiner ou Damien Marguet. D’autres poursuivent brillamment sur les chemins de la création.

Aujourd’hui, j’ai souhaité remettre au jour certains de ces films (3 programmes en fichiers). Instinctifs, sauvages, minimaux ou luxuriants, bricolés ou plus élaborés, ce sont des joyaux que je trouve toujours aussi forts. Une belle occasion de revenir à l’un des ADN du CJC : la richesse insoupçonnée de la créativité.

— Stéphane Marti