Menu Close

Aesthetics of the signal, a panoply of filmic hacking

Focus #2

Fri 8 October 202108.10.21
20H00—22H00
4 rue de Freiberg
94250 Gentilly
Fee
Free entrance

Programmed and presented by Bidhan Jacobs

Since 1990, in the field of the filmic arts, an artistic uprising has occurred to defeat the digital audiovisual on its own ground: the signal. This program presents the main lines of this spontaneous and collective current of artists from all over the world who discover the internal operations of machines, learn their language and develop a technical arsenal capable of capturing the filmic signal, opening the possibility of thinking together the various audiovisual supports in their continuity and their simultaneity.

Pre-program on LED display

FLIP
Juha van Ingen

Finland
2016/2021
GIF
2'

999/999/1
Davorin Marc

Slovenia
2015
Digital
3'

PIKNIK (25 seconds per frame)
Davorin Marc

Slovenia
2013/2014
Digital
11'

Film program

Radar
Augustin Gimel

France
2001
Digital
2’

1305
Augustin Gimel

France
2001
Digital
2’

The Sun of Patiras
Jacques Perconte

France
2007
Digital
3’15

Red Shovel
Leighton Pierce

United States
1992
Digital
8’

Dendromity
Karine Bonneval

France
2015
Digital
10’20

The Silence is on
Pierre-Yves Cruaud

France
2001
Digital
3’30

(DIS)integrator
Juha van Ingen

Finland
1992
Digital
3’55

Afterimage Selves
Sabrina Ratté

Canada
2014
Digital
4’

Sketch for a portrait of Gilberte Swann
Gauthier Beaucourt

France
2019
Digital
6’

Arvore da vida
Jacques Perconte

France
2013
Digital
10’

Volto Telato
Paolo Gioli

Italy
2002
Digital
2’

Repeat Until Love and Loss Overload
Roxane Billamboz

France
2007
Digital
2’20

In Film/On Video
Ignacio Tamarit

Argentina
2018
Digital
3’15

Wound Footage
Thorsten Fleisch

Germany
2003-2009
Digital
6’

Ncorps
Jacques Perconte

France
1999
Digital
11’

Aesthetics of the signal, a panoply of filmic hacking

“Hacking is therefore not unique to computers; it exists wherever there are rules. To hack a system, one must know its rules better than those who set or enforce them, and exploit the fragile distance between the original design and how it actually works or can be implemented. By taking advantage of these unintended uses, hackers are not so much breaking the existing rules as they are discrediting them.” - Edward Snowden, Permanent Record, 2019

 

Since 1990, in the field of filmic arts, an artistic uprising took place to defeat the digital audiovisual on its own ground: the signal. Signal is the very essence of digital sound and image: coded information, material and invisible to the naked eye - electric, electronic or electromagnetic - circulating through the hardware of the age of the internet (cameras, computers, optical fibers, servers, screens, projectors, speakers, antennas, balloons and stratospheric drones, high-altitude platforms, satellites, etc.), and saturating the space of our lives as well as the earth’s atmosphere with waves. Signal processing is the set of algorithmic methods that allow to codify, transmit and interpret information-carrying signals. Its access, of a capital importance, is the object of a spoliation. Thus, some artists are made aware of the following mutable paradox: on the one hand, professional and general public digital tools are built like “black boxes” - closed systems whose sophisticated internal functioning is kept secret - at the heart of which the signal processing is carefully made opaque and inaccessible. On the other hand, private companies and government intelligence services possess an evolving technological power of interception and investigation of signals to carry out their surveillance and profiling operations on a global scale. How, under these conditions, can we develop a free, sensitive and demanding artistic research? This session proposes to identify some of the main lines of a spontaneous and collective current of filmmakers from all over the world, who, challenging this asymmetry of means, discover the internal operations of the machines, learn their language and enrich a technical arsenal capable of taking hold of the filmic signal.

The technological supports, following a traditional analysis based on their intrinsic specificities, converge. Indeed, inventors, engineers and scientists design the operation of the devices for sound and images recording and distributing according to the same great operations known for 150 years and comparable to what we call the computation of the signal: first, the detection of the luminous and sound waves and their conversion in signal; then, the coding of the signal; finally, the reconstruction of the signal in visible light and audible sound for the audience. The filmic signal allows to think together the audiovisual supports (optical, silver, videographic, digital) in their continuity and simultaneity. Thus, retrospectively, and since the digital era, filmic technologies can be reinscribed in the history of telecommunications. The filmic signal, highly standardized, conveys a technicist ideology. To the computation of the signal, the artists oppose an intelligence of the signal which proceeds simultaneously to a criticism of the programming technology which aims at freeing the code and the standards of visuality, in other words, plasticities of the signal.

The three main areas of investigation of the signal can be called : increasing detection (to improve and amplify it), hacking coding (to fight against the technical industries’ understanding of signal processing), recoding reconstruction (to make it more complex).

The intelligence of the signal developed by the artists, which goes through all the history of the filmic arts, denotes a technical, ethical, political and aesthetical stake at once. The understanding of the signal leads to the creative appropriation of technologies, necessary to a potential artistic emancipation.

— Bidhan Jacobs

Menu Fermer

Esthétique du signal, une panoplie du hacking filmique

Focus #2

ven. 8 octobre 202108.10.21
20H00—22H00
4 rue de Freiberg
94250 Gentilly
Tarif
Gratuit

Programmé et présenté par Bidhan Jacobs

Depuis 1990, dans le champ des arts filmiques, un soulèvement artistique s’est produit pour battre l’audiovisuel numérique sur son propre terrain : le signal. Cette programmation présente des lignes de force de ce courant spontané et collectif d’artistes du monde entier qui découvrent les opérations internes des machines, apprend leur langage et enrichit un arsenal technique capable de s’emparer du signal filmique, offrant la possibilité de penser ensemble les supports audiovisuels dans leur continuité et simultanéité.

Pré-programme sur écran LED

FLIP
Juha van Ingen

Finlande
2016/2021
GIF
2'

999/999/1
Davorin Marc

Slovénie
2015
Numérique
3'

PIKNIK (25 seconds per frame)
Davorin Marc

Slovénie
2013/2014
Numérique
11'

Programme (en salle)

Radar
Augustin Gimel

France
2001
mini-DV numérisée
2’

1305
Augustin Gimel

France
2001
Super 8/numérique
2’

Le Soleil de Patiras
Jacques Perconte

France
2007
Numérique
3’15

Red Shovel
Leighton Pierce

États-Unis
1992
16mm numérisé
8’

Dendromité
Karine Bonneval

France
2015
Numérique
10’20

Le Silence est en marche
Pierre-Yves Cruaud

France
2001
Mini-DV numérisée
3’30

(DIS)integrator
Juha van Ingen

Finlande
1992
VHS numérisée
3’55

Afterimage Selves
Sabrina Ratté

Canada
2014
Numérique
4’

Esquisse pour un portrait de Gilberte Swann
Gauthier Beaucourt

France
2019
Numérique
6’

Arvore da vida
Jacques Perconte

France
2013
Numérique
10’

Volto Telato
Paolo Gioli

Italie
2002
Mini-DV numérisée
2’

Repeat Until Love and Loss Overload
Roxane Billamboz

France
2007
Mini-DV numérisée
2’20

In Film/On Video
Ignacio Tamarit

Argentine
2018
16mm numérisé
3’15

Wound Footage
Thorsten Fleisch

Allemagne
2003-2009
Mini-DV numérisée
6’

Ncorps
Jacques Perconte

France
1999
Béta SP/numérique
11’

Esthétique du signal, une panoplie du hacking filmique

« Le piratage n’est donc pas propre à l’informatique, il existe partout où il y a des règles. Pour pirater un système, il faut mieux connaître ses règles que ceux qui les ont définies ou les appliquent, et exploiter la distance fragile qui sépare le projet initial de la façon dont il fonctionne réellement ou peut être mis en œuvre. En tirant parti de ces utilisations involontaires, les hackers contreviennent moins aux règles en vigueur qu’ils ne les discréditent. » — Edward Snowden, Permanent Record, 2019

 

Depuis 1990, dans le champ des arts filmiques, un soulèvement artistique s’est produit pour battre l’audiovisuel numérique sur son propre terrain : le signal. Ce dernier est l’essence même du son et de l’image numériques : de l’information codée, matérielle et invisible à l’œil nu — électrique, électronique ou électromagnétique — circulant à travers le hardware de l’âge du Web (caméra, ordinateurs, fibres optiques, serveurs, écrans, projecteurs, haut-parleurs, antennes, ballons et drones stratosphériques, plateformes haute altitude, satellites, etc.), et saturant d’ondes l’espace de nos existences comme l’atmosphère terrestre. Le traitement du signal est l’ensemble des méthodes algorithmiques qui permet de codifier, transmettre et d’interpréter les signaux porteurs d’information. Son accès, d’une importance capitale, fait l’objet d’une spoliation. Ainsi, certain.e.s artistes sont-ils sensibilisé.e.s au paradoxe mutilant suivant : d’un côté les outils numériques professionnels et grand public sont construits comme des « boîtes noires » — des systèmes fermés dont le fonctionnement sophistiqué interne est tenu secret — au cœur desquelles le traitement du signal est soigneusement rendu opaque et inaccessible. De l’autre, les entreprises privées et les services d’intelligence des gouvernements disposent d’une puissance technologique évolutive d’interception et d’investigation des signaux pour mener leurs opérations de surveillance et de profilage à l’échelle planétaire. Comment, dans ces conditions, développer une recherche artistique libre, sensible et exigeante ? Cette séance propose de dégager quelques lignes de force d’un courant spontané et collectif de cinéastes du monde entier, qui, récusant cette asymétrie des moyens, découvre les opérations internes des machines, apprend leur langage et enrichit un arsenal technique capable de s’emparer du signal filmique.

Les supports technologiques, traditionnellement analysés selon leurs spécificités intrinsèques, convergent. En effet, inventeur.ice.s, ingénieur.e.s et scientifiques conçoivent le fonctionnement des dispositifs d’obtention et de diffusion des images et des sons selon les mêmes grandes opérations depuis 150 ans et assimilables à ce que nous nommons la computation du signal : d’abord, la détection des ondes lumineuses et sonores et leur conversion en signal ; ensuite, la codification du signal ; enfin, la reconstruction du signal en lumière visible et son audible pour le spectateur. Le signal filmique permet de penser ensemble les supports audiovisuels (optique, argentique, vidéographique, numérique) dans leur continuité et simultanéité. Ainsi, rétrospectivement, et depuis le numérique, les technologies filmiques peuvent-elles être réinscrites dans l’histoire des télécommunications. Le signal filmique, hautement normalisé, véhicule une idéologie techniciste. À la computation du signal, les artistes opposent une intelligence du signal qui procède simultanément à une critique de la technologie programmante qui vise aux libérations du code et des normes de visualité, autrement dit, des plasticités du signal.

Les trois grands domaines d’investigation du signal peuvent être nommés : augmenter la détection (pour l’améliorer et l’amplifier), hacker la codification (pour lutter contre les conceptions que les industries techniques se font du traitement du signal), recoder la reconstruction (afin de la complexifier).

L’intelligence du signal développée par les artistes, traversant toute l’histoire des arts filmiques, dénote un enjeu à la fois technique, éthique, politique et esthétique. L’intelligence du signal mène à l’appropriation créative des technologies, condition d’une émancipation artistique possible.

— Bidhan Jacobs