Menu Close

The Devouring glances

Focus #11

Thu 14 October 202114.10.21
20H00—22H00
5 rue des Ecoles
75005 Paris
Reservation
Fee
Single price: 5€
UGC/MK2 and CIP cards accepted

Programmed and presented by What's Your Flavor?

The fifty years of existence of the CJC echo with the fifty years of the creation of the Front Homosexuel d’Action Révolutionnaire (FHAR), which claimed to confront the hostile eyes of a homophobia that was then institutional, rushed into the exploration of the devouring eyes (escaping secret closets to claim their voyeuristic desires) and invited to the chance of sensual explorations, where eyes only are no longer enough to experience passions. More than an account of an era, this program explores the CJC’s catalog in search of films that take on the legacy of those homosexual perspectives and use the eyes as a tool of transformation. A whole history that waters and fertilizes cinema, trickling from one film to another until it rinses our eyes.

Boxing match
Isobel Mendelson

France
1976
Digitized Super 8
15’

Dans le village
Patricia Godal & Laurence Rebouillon

France
2009
16mm
6'

Shape Of The Gaze
Maïa Cybelle Carpenter

United States
2000
16mm
7'

Mâne
Laurence Chanfro

France
2005
Digital
2’30

Les Garçons de la plage
Louis Dupont

France
2003
Super 8
6’

Blind Porn
Emilie Jouvet

France
2005
Digital
3’30

Quand la mer débordait
Laurence Rebouillon

France
1996
16mm
5’

Sur mon cou
Stéphane Marti

France
2009
Digitized Super 8
4’

Le Troisième œil
André Almuro et Jean-Luc Guionnet

France
1989
Digitized Super 8
22’

Nu lacté & Kitsch-net
Lionel Soukaz & Xavier Baert

France
2002
Super 8/16mm double screen
6'30

Les Regards dévorants

The fifty years of existence of the Collectif Jeune Cinéma come along the fifty years of the creation of the Front Homosexuel d’Action Révolutionnaire, the FHAR, an iconic group in French activist history, which wrote in its founding text, Rapport contre la normalité (Report against normality) :

“We are nothing, let us be everything.
This demonstration of May 1st  was the beginning of a festival for us, the “social scourges”. In this classic procession, there was a liberated zone: that of the M.L.F. and the F.H.A.R. […] we danced, we kissed, we caressed each other, we sang: “The faggots are in the street! Long live the total revolution! “and the songs of the M.L.F. to those who looked at us passing by with empathy or horror [1] »

It would seem that throughout the ages, the filmmakers of the CJC have proposed their responses to these gazes - to gazes of empathy, desire, horror and disgust. From pixels and film, worlds were created that fit their desires to substitute them for the gaze of all [2]. Each of the films in this program has its own substitute project.

The experience of marginality passes by the confrontation with hostile looks, those well installed in their normality and quick to express their disapproval under frowned brows. To these, some choose to respond with indifference and to counter these hostile looks with clever mirror effects (In the Village). Others capture this shooting with their eyes and extract from it a capacity to make the illusions of the genre waver (The Shape of Gaze). Others finally explore the transformative possibility, where the initially recalcitrant public succumbs to its curiosity and joins a spectacle of desires a priori doomed (Boxing Match).

While it is well known that good manners forbid deviating, we can count on a different cinema to rush into the exploration of devouring eyes. In turn, the furtive glances carried on candid bodies and their improbable anatomies (Mâne), the longer glances showing in the exhibitions of male performances (Les Garçons de la plage), those which split in a photo-chemical ball to better inspect an offered nudity (Nu lacté & Kitsch-net) and those definitively voyeurs which seek any evocation of sexuality, especially when it  escapes the frame (Blind Porn).

While cinema feeds our wide eyes with staged glances, there are also films that let go of its guidance, of the action of directing, abandoning themselves to chance. Which offer the choice between the power of the shots in Jean Genet’s Un Chant d’amour (a pioneer of French homosexual cinema at the heart of the CJC’s catalog) and the attraction of a naked body, caught by surprise looking at one when we thought we were following the other (Sur mon cou). Who welcome the disproportionate upheavals, whether the object of desire is absent (Quand la mer débordait) or omnipresent (Le Troisième Œil), writing a subjectivity with multiple pairs of eyes, polyvisual, omniscient.

If the sexual encounter is a political fusion of the bodies, arousing our desires to transcend the sufferings, the fears and the embarrassments which separate us, let this orgy of the eyes be the delicious preliminaries of it.

- What’s Your Flavor?

1

FHAR, Rapport contre la normalité, 1971.

2

Cinema substitutes our gaze with a world that matches our desires. Michel Mourlet quoted in the opening of Jean-Luc Godard's Le Mépris.

Menu Fermer

Les Regards dévorants

Focus #11

jeu. 14 octobre 202114.10.21
20H00—22H00
5 rue des Ecoles
75005 Paris
Tarif
Tarif unique : 5€
Cartes UGC/MK2 et CIP acceptées

Programmé et présenté par What’s Your Flavor?

Aux cinquante années d’existence du CJC se juxtaposent les cinquante ans de la création du Front Homosexuel d’Action Révolutionnaire (FHAR), qui revendiquait de s’opposer aux regards hostiles d’une homophobie alors institutionnelle, s’engouffrait dans l’exploration des regards dévorants (s’échappant de placards secrets pour assumer leurs désirs voyeurs) et invitait aux hasards des explorations sensuelles, là où les seuls yeux ne suffisent plus à vivre les passions. Plus que de rendre compte d’une époque, ce programme explore  le catalogue du CJC à la recherche de films héritiers de ces points de vue homosexuels et utilisant le regard comme outil de transformation. Toute une histoire qui abreuve le cinéma, ruisselle d’un film à l’autre jusqu’à bien nous rincer l’œil.

Les Regards dévorants

Boxing match
Isobel Mendelson

France
1976
Super 8 numérisé
15’

Dans le village
Patricia Godal & Laurence Rebouillon

France
2009
16mm
6'

Shape Of The Gaze

États-Unis
2000
16mm
7'

Mâne
Laurence Chanfro

France
2005
Numérique
2’30

Les Garçons de la plage
Louis Dupont

France
2003
Super 8
6’

Blind Porn
Emilie Jouvet

France
2005
Numérique
3’30

Quand la mer débordait
Laurence Rebouillon

France
1996
16mm
5’

Sur mon cou
Stéphane Marti

France
2009
Super 8 numérisé
4’

Le Troisième œil
André Almuro

France
1989
Super 8 numérisé
22’

Nu lacté & Kitsch-net
Lionel Soukaz & Xavier Baert

France
2002
Super 8/16mm double écran
6'30

Les Regards dévorants

Aux cinquante années d’existence du Collectif Jeune Cinéma se juxtaposent les cinquante ans de la création du Front Homosexuel d’Action Révolutionnaire, le FHAR, groupe iconique de l’histoire militante française, qui écrivait dans son texte fondateur, Rapport contre la normalité :

« Nous ne sommes rien, soyons tout.
Cette manif du 1er mai, elle a été un début de fête pour nous, les “fléaux sociaux”. Dans ce cortège classique, il y avait une zone libérée : celle du M.L.F. et du F.H.A.R […] on dansait, on s’embrassait, on se caressait, on chantait : “ Les pédés sont dans la rue ! Vive la révolution totale ! ” et les chansons du M.L.F. à l’adresse de ceux qui nous regardaient passer avec sympathie ou avec horreur.1 »

Il semblerait qu’à travers les époques, les cinéastes membres du CJC ont proposé leurs réponses à ces regards —aux regards de sympathie, de désir, d’horreur et de dégoût. À partir de pixels et de pellicule furent créés des mondes s’accordant à leurs désirs pour les substituer au regard de tout.te.s.2 Chacun des films de ce programme a son propre projet de substitution.

L’expérience de la marginalité passe par la confrontation aux regards hostiles, ceux bien installés dans leur normalité et prompts à exprimer leur désappropation sous des sourcils froncés. À ceux-ci, certaines choisissent de répondre avec indifférence et de contrer ces héberluements par un habile jeu de miroir (Dans le village). D’autres capturent cette fusillade du regard et en extraient une capacité à faire vaciller les illusions du genre (The Shape of Gaze). D’autres enfin en explorent la possibilité transformative, où le public d’abord récalcitrant succombe à sa curiosité et rejoint un spectacle de désirs a priori condamné (Boxing Match).

S’il est bien connu que les bonnes manières interdisent de dévi- sager, on peut compter sur le cinéma différent pour s’engouffrer dans l’exploration des regards dévorants. Tour à tour revendiquant les regards furtifs portés sur les corps candides et leurs anatomies improbables (Mâne), ceux plus appuyés se mesurant aux exhibitions de performances masculines (Les Garçons de la plage), ceux qui se dédoublent dans une balle photochimique pour mieux inspecter une nudité offerte (Nu lacté & Kitsch-net) et ceux définitivement voyeurs qui cherchent toute évocation de la sexualité, surtout si elle échappe au cadre (Blind Porn).

Si le cinéma nourrit nos yeux écarquillés de regards mis en scène, il existe aussi des films qui lâchent prise sur sa direction, sur l’action de guider, s’abandonnant aux hasards. Qui offrent le choix entre la puissance des plans d’Un Chant d’amour de Jean Genet (pionnier du cinéma homosexuel français au cœur du catalogue du CJC) et l’attrait d’un corps nu — pris par surprise à regarder l’un lorsqu’on pensait suivre l’autre (Sur mon cou). Qui accueillent les chamboulements démesurés, que l’objet du désir soit absent (Quand la mer débordait) ou omniprésent (Le Troisième Œil), écrivant alors une subjectivité aux multiples paires d’yeux, polyvisuelle, omnisciente.

Si la rencontre sexuelle est une fusion politique des corps, s’armant de nos désirs pour transcender les souffrances, les peurs et les embarras qui nous séparent, que cette orgie des regards en soient les délicieux préliminaires.

— What’s Your Flavor?

1

FHAR, Rapport contre la normalité, 1971.

2

« Le cinéma substitue à notre regard un monde qui s'accorde à nos désirs. » Michel Mourlet cité en ouverture du Mépris de Jean-Luc Godard.