Menu Close

Cooperating Affinities

Focus #9

Tue 12 October 202112.10.21
21H00—23H00
2 rue du Cinéma
75001 Paris
Reservation
Fee
One session: 7 €
Two sessions: 10 €
Reduced rate: 5.5 €

Programmed and presented by Laurence Rebouillon

The federative status of cooperator makes the status of filmmaker lose any elitist aim. Everyone can get involved in the life of the CJC. Joining this collective is always to “think” another kind of cinema from its very practice. A practice that is necessarily personal, giving the cinema new colors in very different ways, following an infinite number of possibilities. Theoretical debates and polymorphous creations making only one in an abundance of permanent critical postures (criticism in the romantic and thus libertarian sense of this word).

Au fond des yeux
Raphaël Sevet

France
2005
16mm
3’

Black's Back
Derek Woolfenden

France
2009
Digital
12’

Archipels, Granites dénudés
Daphné Hérétakis

France
2014
Digital
25’

La machine avalée
Stéphane Gérard

France
2015
Digital
15’

Eklipsi Anofelou Fotos
Théo Deliyannis

Greece
2015
16mm
15’

Je me souviens de Sunderland
Félix Fattal

France
2017
Digital
11’

The history of the Collectif Jeune Cinéma and that of the Festival des Cinémas Différents et Expérimentaux de Paris are intertwined in my career. In 2005, when the CJC was reorganized, I succeeded to Marcel Mazé as president of the association and participated in the different editions of the Festival.

During my thirteen years of presidency, preferring the “we” to the “I”, we created moments of exchange and reflection around the practices and modes of representation of experimental and different cinema. In particular, we had to dialogue with institutions to whom we always had to re-explain the history of experimental cinema from year to year and eliminate the clichés surrounding experimental cinema, during round tables organized during different editions of the festival [1].

All these years, the stake of the programming was to show an eclectic cinema of great amplitude, breaking the codes of fiction, documentary or animation. To sometimes upset an experimental cinema close to an underground or structural cinema, and to value a different cinema where the subject and the form play together.

The act of programming is a gesture of editing. That’s why I’ve always preferred to sequence the films without lighting the room between each one. Entering a cinema corridor in total immersion, in an intoxicating dive, losing one’s bearings. A slightly disrespectful way of viewing the works themselves, where the credits (when they exist) become the sequences of a single film.

This program evokes certain periods that mark my years at the CJC and obviously my affinity for the works shown (for their strength, content, form and commitment) as well as their authors.

I did not work with Sarah Darmon, the first administrator of the CJC, but with her successor Raphaël Sevet, and all those who followed: Violeta Salvatierra, Damien Marguet, Julia Gouin, Victor Gresard, Théo Deliyannis; as well as the coordinators of the festival: Claire Salvi, Olivia Cooper-Hadjian, Delphine Voiry Humbert, Danae Papaionnou, Angélica Cuevas Portilla, Gabrielle Reiner, Gloria Morano, Daphné Hérétakis. Not all of them are filmmakers (or not yet, or no longer) like Judit Naranjo Ribó who recently arrived.

My first confrontation with funding applications, accounts, and shelf arrangements took place with Raphaël Sevet when the CJC’s premises were on rue Carpeaux. It was also my immersion in the screening committees of the films entering the catalog, the meetings of the transmission pole (with Claude Brunel, Frédérique Devaux, Louis Dupont and the famous drafting of educational sheets - or not, if Pierre Merejkowsky was passing by), the neutralization of the genres at the arrival of Laurence Chanfro, the monthly programs of Thursday, with Pip Chodorov, who liked to invite his American friends, film-makers, when Gérard Cairaschi preferred to show video works, sometimes by his students, the selection committees of the festival with Bernard Cerf and all the teams of the different editions (great moments of exchanges, laughter, and arguments, some of them memorable - but as they say in Vegas…). Since 2010, at Bernard’s initiative, the festival includes competitive programs and I remember our hilarious disagreements with Derek Woolfenden, especially on the representation of women in films, Fabien Rennet’s musical suggestions for the film-concerts, Orlan Roy’s poetic programming and the opening to the public of the jury’s deliberations, proposed by Frederic Tachou. At the time, we committed ourselves to seeing all of the 1500 films entered and Philippe Cote was our scout, discarding the films that were definitely not for us.

To once more involve myself, in 2021, in the selection of the competition, was a great opportunity to share the taste of storytelling and Kung Fu films with Felix Fattal. The re-use of images and sounds at work in the films of Felix, Derek and Stéphane  (Gérard), each in their own way, then reminds me of the 2013 edition on Archives and Found Footage, conducted collectively with the immense contribution of Julia Gouin.

With Daphne (Hérétakis), it is the period of glory of the CJC with three employees: Damien, Gloria and Daphne, the removals and the festivals at Les Voûtes… without counting on the essential presence of Victor Gresard.

With Stéphane Gérard, it’s What’s Your Flavor? that I want to talk about and the very beautiful edition of 2019 “Filmmakers, women, feminists, queer!” directed together with Stéphane, Valentin Gleyze, Apolline/Lawrence Diaz and with the huge contribution of Théo Deliyannis.

I want to thank all the people mentioned in this text, for having been the vital blood of the CJC and for having shared with me a great part of my life and love for a different cinema.

- Laurence Rebouillon

1

Through various themes: Conservation of experimental cinema and restoration (2007); The critic (2008); Experimental films financed by the CNC (2009); State of play after the Manifesto "It's not my genre" of 2002 (2010); Conferences around the Archives and Found footage (2013), ...

Menu Fermer

Affinités coopérantes

Focus #9

mar. 12 octobre 202112.10.21
21H00—23H00
2 rue du Cinéma
75001 Paris
Réservation
Tarif
Une séance : 7 €
Deux séances : 10 €
réduit (une séance) : 5.5 €

Programmé et présenté par Laurence Rebouillon

Le statut fédérateur de coopérateur.ice fait perdre toute visée élitiste à celui de cinéaste. Chacun.e est susceptible de s’impliquer dans la vie du CJC. Rejoindre ce collectif c’est toujours « penser » un autre cinéma à partir de sa pratique. Pratique forcément personnelle colorisant de manière protéiforme le cinéma dans un infini des possibles. Débats théoriques et créations polymorphes ne faisant plus qu’un dans un foisonnement de postures critiques permanentes (critique au sens romantique et donc libertaire du terme).

Au fond des yeux
Raphaël Sevet

France
2005
16mm
3’

Black's Back
Derek Woolfenden

France
2009
Numérique
12’

Archipels, Granites dénudés
Daphné Hérétakis

France
2014
Numérique
25’

La machine avalée
Stéphane Gérard

France
2015
Numérique
15’

Eklipsi Anofelou Fotos
Théo Deliyannis

Grèce
2015
16mm
15’

Je me souviens de Sunderland
Félix Fattal

France
2017
Numérique
11’

L’histoire du Collectif Jeune Cinéma et du Festival des Cinémas Différents et Expérimentaux de Paris se confondent dans mon parcours. En 2005 lors d’une nouvelle organisation du CJC, je succède à Marcel Mazé à la présidence de l’association et participe aux différentes éditions du Festival.

Durant mes treize années de présidence, préférant le « nous » au « je », nous avons créé des moments d’échanges et de réflexion autour des pratiques et des modes de représentation du cinéma expérimental et différent. Nous devions notamment dialoguer avec des institutions auxquelles il fallait toujours réexpliquer l’histoire du cinéma expérimental d’année en année et mettre de côté les stéréotypes de l’expérimental, lors de tables rondes organisées lors de différentes éditions du festival [1}.

Toutes ces années, l’enjeu des programmations était de montrer un cinéma éclectique de grande amplitude, brisant les codes de la fiction, du documentaire ou de l’animation. Bousculer parfois le cinéma expérimental proche d’un cinéma underground ou structurel, et valoriser un cinéma différent où le propos et la forme jouent de pair.

L’acte de programmation est un geste de montage. C’est pourquoi j’ai toujours préféré enchainer les films sans éclairer la salle entre chacun d’entre eux. Entrer dans un couloir de cinéma en totale immersion, dans une plongée enivrante, en perte de repère. Une façon un peu irrespectueuse des œuvres elles-mêmes, où les génériques (quand ils existent) deviennent les séquences d’un seul et même film.

Cette programmation évoque certaines périodes qui jalonnent mes années au CJC et évidemment mes affinités aux œuvres montrées (pour leur force, fond, forme et engagement) autant qu’à leurs auteur.e.s.

Je n’ai pas travaillé avec Sarah Darmon, la première administratrice du CJC, mais avec son successeur Raphaël Sevet, et toutes celles et ceux, qui ont suivi : Violeta Salvatierra, Damien Marguet, Julia Gouin, Victor Gresard, Théo Deliyannis ; ainsi que les coordinatrices du festival : Claire Salvi, Olivia Cooper-Hadjian, Delphine Voiry Humbert, Danae Papaionnou, Angélica Cuevas Portilla, Gabrielle Reiner, Gloria Morano, Daphné Hérétakis. Tou·te·s ne sont pas cinéastes (ou pas encore, ou plus) comme Judit Naranjo Ribó dernièrement arrivée.

Ma première confrontation aux dossiers de subvention, aux comptes, et aux aménagements d’étagères a lieu avec Raphaël Sevet lorsque le local du CJC se trouvait rue Carpeaux. C’est aussi ma plongée dans les comités de visionnage des films entrant au catalogue, les réunions du pôle transmission (avec Claude Brunel, Frédérique Devaux, Louis Dupont et les fameuses rédactions de fiches pédagogiques - ou pas, si Pierre Merejkowsky était de passage), la neutralisation des genres à la venue de Laurence Chanfro, les programmations mensuelles du Jeudi, avec notamment Pip Chodorov qui aimait inviter ses amis américains, cinéastes argentiques, quand Gérard Cairaschi préférait montrer des travaux vidéos, parfois de ses étudiants, les comités de sélection du festival avec Bernard Cerf et toutes les équipes des différentes éditions (grands moments d’échanges, de rires, d’engueulades, dont certaines mémorables — mais comme on dit à qui se passe à Vegas…). Dès 2010 à l’initiative de Bernard, le festival inclut des programmes compétitifs et je me rappelle de nos désaccords tellement drôles avec Derek Woolfenden, notamment sur la représentation des femmes dans les films, les suggestions musicales de Fabien Rennet pour les ciné-concerts, les poétiques programmations d’Orlan Roy et l’ouverture au public des délibérations du jury, proposée par Frédéric Tachou. À l’époque, nous nous engagions à voir l’ensemble des 1500 films inscrits et Philippe Cote était notre éclaireur, écartant les films qui n’étaient définitivement pas pour nous.

M’engager à nouveau, en 2021, dans la sélection de la compétition, a été une belle occasion de partager le goût du récit et les films de Kung Fu avec Félix Fattal. Le réemploi d’images et de sons à l’œuvre dans les films de Félix, Derek et Stéphane (Gérard), chacun à leur manière, me rappelle alors l’édition de 2013 sur les Archives et Found Footage, menée collectivement avec l’immense apport de Julia Gouin.
Avec Daphné (Hérétakis), c’est la période faste du CJC avec trois salariés : Damien, Gloria et Daphné, les déménagements et les festivals aux Voûtes… sans compter sur l’essentielle présence de Victor Gresard.

Avec Stéphane Gérard, c’est What’s Your Flavor? que j’ai envie d’évoquer et la très belle édition de 2019 « Cinéastes, femmes, féministes, queer ! » dirigée ensemble avec Stéphane, Valentin Gleyze, Apolline/Lawrence Diaz et avec l’énorme investissement de Théo Deliyannis.

Je veux remercier ici tou.te.s les personnes citées dans ce texte, d’avoir été la force vive du CJC et d’avoir partagé avec moi une grande partie de ma vie et l’amour du cinéma différent.

— Laurence Rebouillon

1

Par le biais de diverses thématiques : Conservation du cinéma expérimental et restauration (2007) ; La critique (2008) ; Films expérimentaux financés par le CNC (2009) ; État des lieux après le Manifeste « C'est pas mon genre » de 2002 (2010) ; Conférences autour des Archives et Found footage (2013), ...